Pictures for Jacqui

My dear friend, Jacqui, wanted some pictures of where we now live. So here are some things I’ve found:

I’m pretty sure this is the dreaded I-45

*shudder*

Now, fellow Aussies, you will notice that the road surface here is a lighter colour (=color)than the asphalt at home. I don’t know why this is, exactly, but at any rate, all the roads are a much lighter colour here. Xavier (15) likes them, FWIW. I have no objection to the surface, but driving on the wrong side of the road in the wrong side of the car is plain weird. I haven’t felt so nervous on the road since I was first driving at the age of 16. That’s a terribly long time ago.

I am ridiculously proud of myself for having driven 20 mins to Church and back again this morning. It will be quite some time before I tackle the dreaded I-45. (That’s I-45 because it’s an interstate highway. If you follow this baby, you’ll find yourself in Oklahoma and maybe beyond). When in doubt, check Google maps.

But I have to master the art of driving here, undoing various habits of (*ahem!*) years, because nothing is close by. In Texas everything is BIG. Especially the spaces between places. ok?

I’m not going to post photos of anything I haven’t seen yet. Here are some photos of some of the areas we’ve seen so far:

Part of The Woodlands town centre

A couple of typical suburban homes. We hope to buy a home here.

Typical scenes in the suburbs

Yes, to my everlasting shame I have to say we are well acquainted with this place. :/

Lots of water and greenery. Lovely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pictures for Jacqui

  1. louiseyvette says:

    I’ll be adding more pictures soon, I hope.

Leave a Reply

